Our Community Leadership

Our Community Leadership

Lay leadership is critical to Beth Am Synagogue

The Board of Trustees consists of members elected annually (each for a 3 year term) as well as the chairs of the standing committees (set forth in the Beth Am bylaws). The Board considers various issues and concerns and, specifically, votes on processes and changes to Beth Am, particularly in regard to hiring, contracts, construction, finance, and programmatic changes.

A smaller Executive Committee, which is composed of Board members (invited by the president) and all officers, delves more deeply into the issues of governance and synagogue operations – frequently making recommendations to the Board of Trustees.

Board members are expected to support Beth Am financially as well as with their time, by helping with religious services and support of various programs and educational programs.

There are always opportunities to volunteer in ways that support the full range of offerings at Beth Am, including joining a committee or task force and/or helping to run discrete activities. If you’re interested in volunteering, please contact Sally Scott and/or Executive Director Alex Pomerantz.

Board of Trustees

Officers (Two-year term)
President: Sally Scott
1st VP: David Rocah
2nd VP: Brian Whippo
Secretary: Bonnie Guralnick
Treasurer: Phil Symonds

Trustees for a Three-Year Term (2023-2026)

Simon Birenbaum
Melissa Gerr
Joyce Oliner
Ana Pavich

Continuing Trustees

(2022 – 2025)
David Finkler
Sharon Achinstein
Benjamin Kelley
Stu Schoenfeld

(2021 – 2024)
Jeff Spokes
Greg Terry

Past Presidents (Voting)
Adina Amith
Jonathan Fishman

Rabbi (Voting)
Daniel Cotzin Burg, Alexander Grass Rabbinic Chair

Honorary Life Member (Non-Voting)
Lainy LeBow-Sachs

Standing Committees (Voting)
Lifelong Learning Chair – Melissa Gerr
Finance Chair – Phil Symonds
House Chair – Ed Hord
Kiddush Chair – Clara Salzberg
Membership Chair – Ana Pavich
Religious Services Chair – Stu Schoenfeld
Tzedek Beth Am Chair – Evan Serpick
Youth Education Chair – Simon Birenbaum

Ad Hoc Committees (Non-voting)
Annual Fund Chair – Jeff Spokes 
Annual Fund Co-Chair – Jonathan Fishman
Development Co-Chairs – Jim Jacobs and Lisa Akchin